💥

I got a new iPhone & now Gyroscope doesn’t open

If you are switching phones, we suggest logging out of Gyroscope and deleting the app prior to making your final backup and switching phones. It is counterintutive, but the simplest and cleanest way to make sure you can set it up again one you get your new phone set up.

If you restored your phone from a backup onto a new phone and it automatically copies over Gyroscope, this can cause some potential issues for the app.

The backup process doesn’t fully duplicate your previous phone, and so introduces many possible complications that could cause Gyroscope to crash — including only partially copying over the app setup, not transferring certain required permissions, copying bad data into Apple Health, or copying too much data in to Apple Health while the app is syncing.

The first thing to try is to delete the app, restart your phone, and then reinstall the latest version from the App Store. This should let you log back in and start setting it up.

Then log back in, re-enable Apple Health & Places permissions, and continue where you left off.

“What about my data!?” you ask? Fortunately, that is not stored in the phone, and should not be affected. Your data is stored on the Gyroscope website and just synced and displayed on the phone, just like it is on the website. You can log in to your account on the website to review what all is there.

However, it is critical you log back into the same account. Most people should only have one Gyroscope account, so it is just a matter of remembering your email or username and password and should be easy. Where this process can go wrong is if you log back into another account, or create a new account when you come back.

If that doesn’t work…

  1. Wait a while until the backup is fully completed

If your Apple Health data is still being restored and copied from the backup, that could cause issues as Gyroscope has to try and sync millions of data points as they get added back in. You may want to wait a few hours to make sure the backup has completed before attempting to set up the syncing. Trying to keep up with this firehose of data can also cause the app to crash while it is

  1. Try running the app in a simpler mode

When you first set up the app, you should see a prompt to set up Apple Health, places, etc. Instead of turning everything back on, you can leave all of these off — and not grant any requested permissions in Apple Health — to skip the syncing and see if that fixes the issue.

If that is the case, something about those data points is causing the crash. Then you can selectively start turning them on to narrow it down. This is quite rare, but is known to happen as thousands of apps out there attempt to write data and sometimes do a bad job of it. For example, some people have weight measurements that are larger than the mass of the earth and too big to store. The more apps you give access to write to Apple Health, the more possibility there is of this happening.

  1. Try logging out of the account first, before deleting the app

Generally, deleting the app or logging out should also reset the app.

  1. The most extreme option would be to fully reset your phone

This will let you set up the app cleanly without bad data or a strange configuration caused by the backup. This is typically not necessary, but should resolve the issue.

  1. Contact Support

You can also use the website or email to contact us if you get stuck or have any questions.